Home Sport News 2021 ATP Cup draw revealed: Australia to face Spain, Greece

2021 ATP Cup draw revealed: Australia to face Spain, Greece



The ATP Cup draw has been revealed and it will be a tough tournament for the Australians.

Last year’s champions Serbia, led by world No.1 Novak Djokovic, will look to defend their crown when the tournament kicks off on February 1 in Melbourne.

For Australia, Alex de Minaur has again been appointed to lead the team. He will be accompanied by his fellow Australians John Millman, John Peers and Luke Saville.

De Minaur last year drove Rafael Nadal to three sets in a thrilling game before Australia fell to Spain in the semi-finals.

While the Australians are set to face Spain in the round robin stage this time around, with Greece having world number 6 Stefanos Tsitsipas in the lead, the great American tennis player Jim Courier believes it will be a game. no difficult, especially for 21- from Minaur, one year.

Australians celebrate their move to semi-finals

“Alex will have his work cut out for him, but he will be up to the task,” said Jim Courier.

“He has Rafa and Tsitsipas, it’s a big challenge for him.

“But Australia were so good with a very difficult draw last year. Maybe they will be able to pull off another upset.

“There are so many great encounters.”

ATP Cup draw (ATP Cup)

group A

Serbia, Germany, Canada

Serbia: Novak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic, Filip Krajinovic, Nikola Cacic

Germany: Alexander Zverev, Jan-Lennard, StruffKevin, KrawietzAndreas Mies

Canada: Denis Shapovalov, Milos Raonic, Peter Polansky, Steven Diez

Group B

Spain, Greece, Australia

Spain: Rafael Nadal, Roberto Bautista Agut, Marcel Granollers, Pablo Carreno Busta

Greece: Stefanos Tsitsipas, Michail Pervolarakis, Markos Kalovelonis, Petros Tsitsipas

Australia: Alex de Minaur, John Millman, John Peers, Luke Saville

Group C

Austria, Italy, France

Austria: Dominic Thiem, Dennis Novak, Philipp Oswald, Tristan-Samuel Weissborn

Italy: Matteo Berrettini, Fabio Fognini, Simone Bolelli, Andrea Vavassori

France: Gael Monfils, Benoit Paire, Nicolas Mahut, Edouard Roger-Vasselin

Group D

Russia, Argentina, Japan

Russia: Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev, Evgeny Dosnkoy

Argentina: Diego Schwartzman, Guido Pella, Horacio Zeballos, Maximo Gonzalez

Japan: Kei Nishikori, Yoshihito Nishioka, Ben McLachlan, Toshihide Matsui

For a daily dose of the best of the latest news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter in click here!




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version