Monday, May 10, 2021

Matthew Wolff disqualified from Masters for scoreboard error

Must read


It was a bad day for 21-year-old Matthew Wolff and things got worse.

The American, who shot 76 and 79 and was +11 away from the cut line, was disqualified for recording a lower total on the 17th hole than he actually scored.

Wolff signed a 4 on his scorecard when the video showed him scoring a 5 after a three-inch backhand tap-in.

Wolff, ranked 23rd in the world, was not happy with his fourth putt and immediately hit his fifth tap-in. Instead of registering a 17th par 4 as a bogey, he registered the score as a par.

As the game ended, tournament officials sent a statement: “After his second round, Matthew Wolff turned over a scorecard with a lower hole score than he actually made at hole 17. He had then been disqualified. “

Wolff has had a strong 2020 and achieved his first Masters last year, came second at his first US Open and tied for fourth in the PGA Championship.

Although he’s been going through a tough time lately. He dropped out of the WGC-Workday Championship after shooting an 83 in the first round. He also withdrew from the Farmers Insurance Open with a hand injury after a 78 in the first round.

The incident brought back memories of the Masters’ most infamous scorecard error.

Leishman ‘happy to be near the head’

In 1968, Roberto De Vicenzo and Bob Goalby finished the tournament tied and headed for an 18-hole playoff on Monday, according to the rules of the time.

On the 17th, oddly enough, De Vicenzo’s scorecard mistakenly showed a par 4 when he actually birdie-carded 3.

Unfortunately, his playing partner Tommy Aaron scored a 4 incorrectly and Di Vicenzo did not correct the error before signing his card.

Although he was not disqualified, Di Vicenzo had to take the highest score, which earned Goalby the title of Masters champion.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article