Thursday, November 30, 2023

NASCAR lineup at Daytona: start order, pole for Sunday’s road race without qualifying

Must read


The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race on the road course at Daytona International Speedway was not defined by qualifying races, but by the mathematical formula adopted by the series last season amid the pandemic COVID-19.

Drivers were assigned their starting positions for the O’Reilly Auto Parts 253 at Daytona (3 p.m. ET; Fox, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) based on how they finished in the Daytona 500 and the races of Duel qualification during the Speedweeks.

Below is the start list for Sunday’s NASCAR race on the Daytona 3.61-mile road course and how it was set without qualifying.

AFTER: Watch NASCAR races live with fuboTV (7 day free trial)

Who won pole for the NASCAR race at Daytona?

After the numbers were tight, Chase Elliott found himself on pole ahead of Daytona 500 winner Michael McDowell, who will start second. Elliott finished second in the Great American Race, a car length behind McDowell, but had better overall stats.

The full set of criteria, per NASCAR:

  • Finish position of the driver from the previous race (25%)
  • Finish position of the car owner from the previous race (25%)
  • Team owner point ranking (35%)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15%)

Elliott’s No.9 Hendrick Motorsports car is two points ahead of McDowell’s No.34 Front Row Motorsports car in the points standings thanks to the Daytona 500.

Elliott on pole is bad news for the other 39 drivers in the peloton: he won the last four road races of the Cup Series and was on the verge of winning the Clash exhibition on the Daytona route this month, until his car collided with Ryan Blaney’s car on the last corner.

The next NASCAR qualifying session will take place at the end of March, for the dirt race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

NASCAR start line at the Daytona Road Course

The starting line-up for Sunday’s race on the Daytona Road Course was determined using a NASCAR mathematical formula adopted at the end of the 2020 season. The same procedure for defining non-qualifying rosters should be used for the majority of races in 2021.

Formula produced this starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR race on the Daytona Road Course:

Pos. Driver Car number Team
1. Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
2. Michael mcdowell 34 Motorsport in the front row
3. Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
4. Denny hamlin 11 Joe gibbs racing
5. Kevin harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
6. Ryan preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
7. Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
8. Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
9. Ross chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
ten. Bubba wallace 23 23XI Race
11. Joey logano 22 Penske team
12. Christopher bell 20 Joe gibbs racing
13. Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
14. Kyle busch 18 Joe gibbs racing
15. Brad Keselowski 2 Penske team
16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
17. Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
18. Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
19. Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe gibbs racing
20. Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
21. Cody ware 51 Petty ware racing
22. William byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
23. Josh bilicki 52 Rick ware racing
24. Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
25. Garrett smithley 53 Rick ware racing
26. Aric almirola ten Stewart-Haas Racing
27. Ryan blaney 12 Penske team
28. Scott Heckert 78 Fast live motorsport
29. Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
30. Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
31. Anthony Alfredo 38 Motorsport in the front row
32. Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood brothers racing
33. Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
34. AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
35. Daniel Suarez 99 Track race
36. Alex bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
37. Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
38. Ty dillon 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
39. James davison 15 Rick ware racing
40. Timmy hill 66 Motorsport business management


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article