Cricket legend Shane Warne is in disbelief Indian wicket keeper Rishabh Pant claimed to have caught Will Pucovski when the Australian debutant was 32 years old.
The youngster took a short shot from Mohammed Siraj with a hook shot and the ball flew off the gloves and over Pant’s head.
He backed up and claimed the dive catch on the second attempt – and the on-court referees gave a soft “out” signal before checking in with the third referee.
Replays showed Pant didn’t take the catch cleanly, leaving Warne furious at Fox Cricket.
“He thought he took it – well I can’t believe it because you are looking at his hands,” Warne said. during the first day of the third CRS test.
Pucovski’s Elegant Debut Ends
“You can’t catch a ball when your hands are basically down.
“You look at his hands, he tries but then look at his hands, he kind of kicks the ball on the ground.
“See that? He’s choking her, it’s like an essay.
“He didn’t really put his hands underneath so you can’t give that away.”
“How does he claim that, how does he catch it?”
“The only thing under the palms of his hands is dirt.
“So I was a little disappointed with that one.”
Indian commentator Harsha Bhogle described it as “a very delicate matter” to be resolved, but Warne fought back.
“I don’t think it’s touchy,” Warne said.
“You just can’t catch a ball with your hands in this shape.”
Bhogle added that the right decision was ultimately made despite the third referee not necessarily having clear evidence to override the initial soft signal.
“It’s like a judge in a courtroom … no one has seen the crime committed but all the evidence points to the crime being committed.”
Pucovski was ultimately sacked LBW for 62 as reporters and cricket fans continued to debate the “hold” of the pants.