Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Call of Duty Season 1 Ranking System Reset Explained: What Progress Continues After Update?

Must read


One of the most confusing components of the Season 1 update for Call of Duty: Cold War Black Ops is the implementation of a leaderboard reset.

In theory, the idea is clear: Cold War, Modern Warfare, and Warzone players will be synced at the same rank level. But with some people already deeply unlocked, there are questions about what will continue beyond the update.

The Season 1 download will be available on Tuesday, December 16 at 2:00 a.m.ET for all gaming platforms.

Here’s what you need to know about how the Season 1 update will affect your rank and unlocked items.

Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War Season 1 release date

  • Dated: December 16, 2020
  • Time: 2 am ET
  • Systems: PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, PC

How the Season 1 ranking system works

Your season level will be reset to 1, but all class creation unlocks will carry over and your highest pre-season prestige level will remain intact. Note that this change applies to Modern Warfare and Warzone in addition to Black Ops Cold War.

Perhaps the most important to note: Deselect yourself in some past Call of Duty games, you will NOT lose all of your unlocks every time you play Prestige.

From Activision:

If you reach level 200 in any season, you will also get the title of Prestige Master for that season. The color of your Prestige level will change to indicate your Prestige Master status and you will have the option to customize your Prestige Icon with the Prestige Icons inherited from previous Call of Duty games that you have unlocked (more on this below).

The journey doesn’t end there if you want to keep climbing. Once you reach Prestige Master in a season, you can continue to level up to level 1000 each season, with milestone rewards to be earned every 50 levels along the way.

What is the prestige in Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War after the update?

Four Prestiges were added in the Season 1 update, with new rewards accompanying them. By reaching level 200, you can achieve a prestige master achievement.

Here’s a look at the Season 1 Prestige System:

Prestige level Awards
Level 50 New Prestige, Emblem, Prestige Key, Weapon Blueprint and Battle Pass Level Jump
Level 100 New level of Prestige, Emblem, Prestige Key and Battle Pass
Level 150 New level of Prestige, Emblem, Prestige Key and Battle Pass
Level 200 New Prestige, Emblem, Prestige Key, Battle Pass Level Jump, Master Prestige Calling Card and all Season Challenges unlocked
Level 250-1000 New prestige key every 50 levels


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article