Saturday, April 20, 2024

Heisman Trophy finalists: updated odds, top candidates to win 2020 award

Must read


Simply skipping the 2020 season has been an impressive feat for college football players facing COVID-19 outbreaks on their schedules and the chaos of the schedule.

Of those who have been fortunate enough to play a large sample of games, several stood out from the rest for their performances on the pitch. When the finalists for the Heisman Trophy are announced Thursday night at 7:30 p.m. ET, four of them will be recognized for their competitive efforts.

The Heisman winner will be declared on January 5 in a virtual ceremony. Votes have already been submitted, so bowl performance will not influence the decision.

Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith is the favorite for the prize, having amassed 1,511 receiving yards and 17 touchdowns this year.

MORE: Case for and against each Heisman candidate

Here’s a look at the odds, finalists and historical winners of the Heisman Trophy:

Current Heisman Prize 2020 odds

Over the past week, DeVonta Smith and Trevor Lawrence have seen their chances of Heisman increase, while Kyle Trask and Najee Harris have faded. Mac Jones is pretty much the same where he was before the SEC title game.

Below are the updated Heisman Awards 2020 odds.

Player Chances
DeVonta Smith (WR, Alabama) -180
Mac Jones (QB, Alabama) +155
Trevor Lawrence (QB, Clemson) +1600
Kyle Trask (QB, Florida) +2700
Najee Harris (RB, Alabama) +5000

Who are the Heisman finalists?

The Heisman finalists will be announced Thursday evening. Alabama Mac Jones’ attacking trio, DeVonta Smith and Najee Harris are expected to be shortlist contenders. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask are also good candidates.

Alabama defeated Florida last weekend in the SEC Championship game. Clemson knocked down Notre Dame in the CCA Championship game. The Tide and Tigers will be part of the upcoming college football playoffs.

When is the Heisman Trophy awarded?

The 2020 Heisman Trophy will be presented on January 5 at 7 p.m. ET. The award is voted on by members of the college football media across the country. It is the most prestigious individual honor in college football and arguably the most coveted in all amateur sports.

Historic Heisman Trophy Winners

The Heisman Trophy has spread across the country over the past decade, with members from five different conferences claiming the honor. The center of the college football media world can seem like the SEC at times, but three of the last four press vote winners have come from outside this conference.

This year, fans got to see the first wide receiver chosen since 1991.

Here are the last 10 winners of the Heisman Trophy:

Year Player Total votes Margin of victory
2019 Joe Burrow, QB, LSU 2 608 1,846
2018 Kyler Murray, QB, Oklahoma 2 167 296
2017 Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma 2398 1,098
2016 Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville 2 144 620
2015 Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama 1,832 293
2014 Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon 2,534 1,284
2013 Jameis Winston, QB, State of Florida 2,205 1,501
2012 Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M 2,029 323
2011 Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor 1,687 280
2010 Cam Newton, QB, Auburn 2 263 1 184


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article