Wednesday, October 4, 2023

India Wins Australian Test Series with Historic Victory at Gabba | Cricket News

Must read


India gave Australia their first defeat at Brisbane since 1988 and won the four-test series 2-1 to win the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

India pulled off a record-breaking chase in an exciting final session to give Australia their first loss at Gabba’s field in Brisbane since 1988 and win the four-test series 2-1 to claim the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. .

Batsman Rishabh Pant played with a no-go 89 swashbuckling as injury-exhausted visitors revised the goal to 328 points with three passes to go, winning by three wickets on the final day of the series Tuesday.

India picked up on Tuesday on 4 undefeated and had 98 overs to pursue a 328 winning goal or three full sessions to beat to save the draw they needed to retain the trophy.

No team had scored more than 236-7 in the fourth inning to win a test match at the Gabba. India won with a total of 329-7 and now replaces the 1951 Australian team for that record.

Having never won a series of tests on Australian soil until 2018-19, India has now done so twice on consecutive Down Under tours.

Opener Shubman Gill posted 91 and Cheteshwar Pujara absorbed no less than 11 hits in his 211 56 balls.

The four tests were tied for 1-1, meaning India only needed a draw to keep the trophy.


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article