With the addition of “recently deleted,” Instagram says it will require users to verify their identities by text or email before they can restore a post or permanently delete it. The extra step is basically a form of two-step verification to purge posts from the app (but, more importantly, do not a substitute for use two-factor authentication to protect your account in the first place).
Of course, if you are locked out of your account due to a hack, you will not be able to immediately access your deleted posts. And coming back to a compromised Instagram account can in itself be a tough task. But at least it will be harder for a hacker to erase all of your posts while you are making your way through Instagram media.