Thursday, September 28, 2023

Karnataka and Mumbai advance to the quarter-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy; Tamil Nadu eliminated

Must read


The 2020-21 group stage Vijay Hazare Trophy ended Monday, with teams learning their fate in the quarterfinals.

Gujarat, Andhra, Karnataka, Bombay and Saurashtra qualified for the last eight of the Vijay Hazare Trophy as Elite group winners. Andhra were one of four teams to end their elite Group B commitments with 12 points, but their top net run rate (0.732) overcame them Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh.

The quintet are joined in the final eight by Uttar Pradesh and Kerala, with the two teams finishing with the most points and the best net run rate of all teams in the Elite group.

Last place in the quarter-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy is still up for grabs, with the winner of the Delhi-Uttarakhand game to complete the last eight rosters. Uttarakhand pushed Assam to advance to the pre-quarterfinals due to a better net run rate.

Qualifying format for the Vijay Hazare Trophy

This year’s edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy saw top players from each Elite group advance to the quarter-finals.

Gujarat topped elite group A with 20 points and are just one of two teams in the elite group to go unbeaten in the Vijay Hazare Trophy this season.

Andhra (12 points) and Karnataka (16 points) joined Gujarat from elite groups B and C, respectively. Mumbai, winner of the Elite D group, is the other unbeaten group with 20 points.

Uttar Pradesh and Kerala were the teams with the most points (16 points each) of all the Vijay Hazare Trophy teams due to their higher net run rate (NRR). Baroda narrowly missed, as their NRR of 0.399 was slightly lower than Delhi’s (0.507)

The last place in the quarter-finals of this season’s Vijay Hazare Trophy will be decided after Delhi, who finished second in elite Group D, faced Plate Group table winners Uttarakhand. Although Delhi enters the game as a favorite, Uttarakhand have yet to lose a game in the competition this season.

When will the quarter-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy take place?

The group stage of the Vijay Hazare Trophy took place in several cities, but the four quarter-finals will take place in New Delhi.

The knockout matches will start from March 7, starting with the pre-quarter-final between Delhi and Uttarakhand. The four quarter-finals will be played at Arun Jaitley Stadium and Palam Ground in New Delhi.

As the Vijay Hazare Trophy quarter-finals schedule has not yet been announced, here is the provisional schedule:

March 7: Pre quarterfinals from 9:00 am IST.

8 March: Quarter Final 1 from 9:00 am IST.

8 March: Quarter Final 2 from 9:00 am IST.

March 9: Quarter Final 3 from 9:00 am IST.

March 9: Quarter Final 4 from 9:00 am IST.

Posted on March 01, 2021 at 6:35 PM IST


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article