Friday, June 9, 2023

NASCAR at Daytona, Live Updates, 2021 Road Race Results & Highlights

Must read


NASCAR returns to Daytona International Speedway for the second time in as many weeks on Sunday, this time for the O’Reilly Auto Parts 253 road race.

This is the second year that NASCAR has included racing in its Truck, Xfinity and Cup series races due to the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020. Chase became the first winner of the course in 2020 and will now attempt to replicate this feat.

Elliott holds pole position heading into Sunday’s race, but that’s not the only advantage he has ahead of the Daytona race: he has won the last four NASCAR road courses, leading a total of 176 laps in this race. period. Another victory on Sunday will put him in a race to tie Jeff Gordon’s record for six consecutive road wins.

Elliott’s # 9 car has already had some success on the course this year as well; he finished second in Clash in Daytona, behind Kyle Busch. Sunday’s peloton will include 21 drivers in total who competed in the unofficial opening of the 2021 NASCAR season. Busch comes in 14th ahead of Sunday’s race; Michael McDowell, who won the Daytona 500, is second.

AFTER: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7 day free trial)

Sporting News follows live race updates and turn-based highlights from NASCAR Road Race in Daytona. Follow for the full results of the O’Reilly Auto Parts 253.

NASCAR at Daytona Live Updates, Road Race Highlights

Every hour in the East

4:33 p.m .: We are on round 13 of 18 in the second stage; a good part of the ground, as for it, is put on guard.

16:31: And now Tyler Reddick’s car has slowed to crawl over the oval. I don’t know what the problem is there.

4:29 p.m .: We are under our fourth warning as Ross Chastain’s car hit the wall at the exit of turn 6. He was 20th by the time the yellow flag waved; he has damage to his car – looks like his suspension – but is able to start. Now he’s trying to get to the pit as quickly as possible without tearing up his car.

4:24 p.m .: Keselowski, 11th, missed the backstretch chicane and had to make a save. He lost three positions and is now 14th.

4:15 p.m .: No problem for the field in one of the first six laps back on the oval; the race becomes a little more fluid.

4:13 p.m .: Elliott, Logano and Hamlin occupy the top three places before the restart.

4:00 p.m .: Elliott picks up where he left off on the road circuits, winning the first stage easily.

3:54 p.m .: Christopher Bell was the first in the round, but Elliott quickly came back to the front with only three laps to go in the stage. Keselowski and Joey Logano – who were at Daytona 500 crash center – are behind him in the second and third positions respectively.

3:47 p.m .: We are under our second warning with five laps to go in the stage; Brad Keselowski’s car appeared to lock up, causing a flat tire. Matt DiBenedetto also suffered extensive damage to his car.

3:42 p.m .: Elliott, meanwhile, has a notable lead over second-placed Hamlin; 4, for 5 seconds on turn 10.

3:41 p.m .: Brief moment between Ryan Blaney and AJ Allmendinger as the latter braked Blaney on the oval.

3.35 p.m .: Chase Briscoe falls in the back after spinning over the front chicane; the whole terrain must have taken evasive maneuvers around him while his car was idling. No caution, however; he rolls and continues to run.

3:31 p.m .: And we are back in the 4th round of 70. Chase Elliott, Austin Dillon and Denny Hamlin are in the first three places after the bail.

3:27 p.m .: One turn and we’re already under surveillance for debris. Kyle Busch is in the pit working on his car; McDowell also has his car examined.

3:21 p.m .: Michael McDowell is the first driver – but not the only one – to pass Turn 1. The winner of the Daytona 500 immediately loses his seat. Kyle Busch also appears to have suffered damage to his right front tire.

3:13 p.m .: It’s about that time.

NASCAR race start time today

  • Dated: Sunday February 21
  • Start time: 3 p.m. ET (green flag at 3:20 p.m. ET)
  • TV channel: Fox (TSN5 in Canada)
  • Direct: Fox sports go | fuboTV (7 day free trial)

The green flag for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race on the Daytona Road Course is to be waved at 3:20 p.m. ET.

Although NASCAR will race the Daytona Road Course on Sunday even though it is wet, there will always be weather-related threats: if the rain is too heavy, if there is lightning in the area, or if it there is too much water on the course. The weather forecast for Daytona Beach, Florida on Sunday is partly cloudy, temperatures in the mid-60s and about a 15 percent chance of precipitation.

NASCAR at Daytona

The starting line-up for Sunday’s race on the Daytona Road Course was determined using a NASCAR mathematical formula adopted at the end of the 2020 season. The same procedure for defining non-qualifying rosters should be used for the majority of races in 2021.

Formula produced this starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR race on the Daytona Road Course:

Pos. Driver Car number Team
1. Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
2. Michael mcdowell 34 Motorsport in the front row
3. Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
4. Denny hamlin 11 Joe gibbs racing
5. Kevin harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
6. Ryan preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
7. Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
8. Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
9. Ross chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
ten. Bubba wallace 23 23XI Race
11. Joey logano 22 Penske team
12. Christopher bell 20 Joe gibbs racing
13. Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
14. Kyle busch 18 Joe gibbs racing
15. Brad Keselowski 2 Penske team
16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
17. Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
18. Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
19. Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe gibbs racing
20. Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
21. Cody ware 51 Petty ware racing
22. William byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
23. Josh bilicki 52 Rick ware racing
24. Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
25. Garrett smithley 53 Rick ware racing
26. Aric almirola ten Stewart-Haas Racing
27. Ryan blaney 12 Penske team
28. Scott Heckert 78 Fast live motorsport
29. Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
30. Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
31. Anthony Alfredo 38 Motorsport in the front row
32. Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood brothers racing
33. Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
34. AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
35. Daniel Suarez 99 Track race
36. Alex bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
37. Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
38. Ty dillon 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
39. James davison 15 Rick ware racing
40. Timmy hill 66 Motorsport business management


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article