Thursday, December 1, 2022

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Full results of Sunday’s Daytona Road race

Must read


For the second week in a row, Daytona International Speedway produced an inaugural NASCAR Cup Series winner.

Joe Gibbs Racing’s Christopher Bell took home the honor on the road course of the track, taking the lead from Joey Logano with two laps to go and securing a comfortable 2.119 second victory over the 2018 Series champion.

AFTER: Highlights from Sunday’s Daytona Road Race

Bell, 26, is the 2017 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion and this is his second season at the top level, his first drive for the Gibbs Championship host. His Sunday job, however, was more reminiscent of a veteran. There were eight warning flags, eight race leaders and a lot of action in the descending laps.

More information on Bell’s victory can be found below, as well as the full results of Sunday’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 253 at the Daytona Road Course.

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

Christopher Bell rounded Joey Logano in the chicane a few yards before the white flag and easily stretched the lead to win his first career NASCAR Cup Series trophy.

“It’s definitely one of the highlights of my life so far,” said a smiling Bell after stepping off the roof of his # 20 Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing, where he flashed the # 1 sign. on the stands.

Bell’s pass to the win capped a final dozen thrilling and suspenseful laps. Reigning race winner and defending Series champion Chase Elliott led a record 45, but got caught in heavy traffic after his last pit stop with 15 laps to go. He won Stage 1 and was fifth after coming back to the front with six laps to go when he sped into the infield – victim of a chain reaction collision in the wing-to-guard race. mud at the time. He eventually came back 21st, scoring a four-game winning streak in the road race.

NASCAR results at Daytona

Behind Bell and Logano, Bell’s Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin finished third, followed by Kurt Busch and Brad Keselowski.

Kevin Harvick, AJ Allmendinger, last week’s Daytona 500 winner Michael McDowell – also first time winner – Ryan Preece and Alex Bowman round out the top 10. This is the third time in NASCAR Cup Series history , a season began with two first-time winners, joining the inaugural seasons of 1949 and 1950.

With his first victory, Bell is now ranked fourth in the NASCAR Cup Series standings. Hamlin, who won Stage 2, leads the championship by 12 points over Logano to the Dixie Vodka 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway next Sunday (3:30 p.m. ET; Fox, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Here are the full results of Sunday’s Daytona Road Course.

Pos. Driver
1. Christopher bell
2. Joey logano
3. Denny hamlin
4. Kurt busch
5. Brad Keselowski
6. Kevin harvick
7. AJ Allmendinger
8. Michael mcdowell
9. Ryan preece
ten. Alex bowman
11. Chris Buescher
12. Martin Truex Jr.
13. Cole custer
14. Erik Jones
15. Ryan blaney
16. Daniel Suarez
17. Aric almirola
18. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
19. Ty dillon
20. Ryan newman
21. Chase Elliott
22. Anthony Alfredo
23. James davison
24. Justin haley
25. Cody ware
26. Bubba wallace
27. Garrett smithley
28. Scott Heckert
29. Timmy hill
30. Kyle larson
31. Corey LaJoie
32. Chase Briscoe
33. William byron
34. Austin dillon
35. Kyle busch
36. Josh bilicki
37. Matt DiBenedetto
38. Tyler reddick
39. Ross chastain
40. Quin Houff

Holly Cain writes for the NASCAR Wire Service.


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article